Department of Neurology, Cairo University

(The Father Department of the Mother University)

The modern history of Medicine in Egypt starts on the 11th of March 1827, when the school of Medicine was opened in Abou Zaabal. It was then transferred to Kasr AL-Aini; a place that dates back to 1466. In 1925 it joined the Egyptian University (established 1908). The foundation of the new Faculty and Hospital were set on the 16th of December 1928 by King Foad.

The Department was founded in 1932 by the late professor Yousssef Barrada making it the first Neurology Department in the Middle East and Africa. The first diploma in neurology was granted 1942.

The department members became the founders of other neurology departments in Egypt such as in Ain-Shams; Al-Azhar; Assuit; Mansoura; Suez Canal; Minoufiya; Fayoum and Beni Suef Universities.

The Department currently offers the following services:

  I)Education and Training:

  • Neurology courses for undergraduate students.
  • Master degree and Medical doctorate degree in Neurology.
  • Neurology residency program.
  • Continuing medical education (CME)_in colloborarion with World Federation of Neurology and EFNS).
  • World federation of Neurology regional training center for Africa.
  • Weekly staff rounds; monthly meetings; annual Congress.

 II)Clinical Services:

  • Inpatient section (92 beds).
  • Neurology ICU.
  • Stroke Unit.
  • Clinical neurophysiology Unit.
  • Neurosonology
  • Physiotherapy Unit.
  • Outpatient clinics: 
      • General neurology. 
      • Multiple sclerosis. 
      • Epilepsy clinics.